Time to jump off that Nikon ship?

I don’t know when it started but after owning nothing but Nikon DSLR’s since the launch of the original D70 I’m getting itchy feet to explore the wonderful world of Canon. Switching systems is a big move though, as those itchy feet are shuffling nervously as the urge to go for it gets stronger.

So, why the sudden change of heart? Well, it’s certainly not because my Nikon kit isn’t capable. It’s more than capable of anything I throw at it and I’ve got a fair bit of kit built up over the years to cover most eventualities so I’m rarely left floundering in the kit stakes.

I think the real issue is Nikon themselves. Since the launch of the D7000 we’ve had the D4, D800 and now the D600, all full frame and all with a bullock busting £2k+ price tag to match. Below the D7000 we’ve got the aging D90 and entry level D3200 and D5100. That leaves only the now elderly D300s sat alongside the D7000. The range is limiting and when you kit the D7000 the only way up on full frame which I have NO desire to commit to.

Canon through seem to have a myriad of crop sensor models of varying capability topped off by the fantastic 7d. Lens selections on Canon also seem more varied and indeed, better priced from my initial research.

Canon too is far wider supported in terms of astro-photography and the ability to add the Magic Lantern firmware is a rather compelling plus point to me at least. In terms of day to day photography the7d and D7000 seem pretty evenly matched so with switching it seems I have nothing to lose yet might make possible gains, it’s hard to argue against that.

Of course with 2 Nikon DSLR’s and 8 Nikon Lenses it’s not going to be straightforward making the move. I need too sell on my Nikon kit for the absolute best possible return in order to replace it with equivalent Canon kit and may have to sacrifice that handy 2nd body if I went for a 7d.

It’s a dilemma alright. Once you buy into one system that’s usually it, people never switch unless of course they are the type of person that can afford to replace their loo roll with a pile of used £20 notes.

I’ve done a bit of maths regarding potential returns on private sales of the Nikon kit and have a nice shopping list of Canon kit and the 2 just about work out. If I can sell the Nikon then it might well be game on…

Wish me luck.

3 responses

  1. mostlymonochrome

    I’m a Canon.

    September 18, 2012 at 6:51 pm

  2. I see from your flickr you have said you own:
    “Sigma 10-20mm f4.5/5.6 EX – Quality wide angle lens
    Sigma 105mm EX DG Macro – What a lens, just doesnt work on the D7000 though!”

    Couple of comments… if you do decide to sell up and switch, I would be interested in the Sigma 10-20mm! I was looking at ultra-wide lenses but haven’t convinced myself that I need to fork out that amount of money for one yet!

    In terms of the Sigma 105mm, I have exactly the same lens and it works fine on my D7000, I was a bit worried about this when I was buying my D7000 too as I had read that there were some incompatibility problems with 3rd party lenses. I don’t know if you know but you can send it off to Sigma and they can re-chip it (or something) so it will be compatible with your camera. Mine must be from a more recent batch I guess?

    October 27, 2012 at 2:52 pm

    • Hi Tom, yes, Sigma will rechip lenses. My macro was done under warranty but out of warranty lenses are usually only about £30 to get done.

      October 28, 2012 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

