Favourite Edinburgh Photographs of 2010

Inspired by a blog post I read tonight by Scott Liddell I thought I’d trawl through the archives and pick my favourite Edinburgh photographs of the year month by month.

January
Spylaw Park

This was a strange shot to take. I was taken at the back door of the building of my then employer who 2 weeks earlier had gone bust. I was still working at the time for the Administrators and to be frank the days were long and lonely knocking about in a big building that once had over 100 people working in it and at this point had a dozen at most. A multiple shot pano and hdr conversion of Spylaw Park in the Colinton area of Edinburgh.

February
Entrance to the Pentlands

I didn’t do a lot of photography in February. Job uncertainness mixed with a really crap working day didn’t inspire me much, this was a standout though taken on a lunch break just up at the entrance to the Pentland Hills at Bonaly. I had gone up for a misty landscape but in the end the sun hit this scene so in went f2.8 on the Sigma 70-200mm and the shot of the month was had.

March
10 to 3

March was a really lean month. I seemed to spend most of it playing with the Hipstamatic app on the iPhone. Life picked up though, got made redundant but had a new job already. Bonus! This was taken on the Radical Road on Arthurs Seat and was done by twisting the zoom on the Sigma 70-200mm as I took the shot. Weird effect and I’ve never tried it again since.

April
Union Canal boathouse - Explored

I started taking lots of photos again in April, the mixture of better weather and finally job security had me out and about again. This is one of my favourite subjects, Ashley Boathouse on the banks of the Union Canal. Great spot to walk the dog and its only a mile or so from the house. Taken lots of pics of this this year.

May
Dean Village in summer - Explored

A hard month to pick this one as I had loads in May. However, this shot of the Dean Village in central Edinburgh has served me well this year. I thought I had overdone the colour in the HDR but it’s been rather popular and it’s going to be on greetings cards next year after I had a request to licence it.

June
Bridges Sunset 4 June 2010

I don’t seem to have done a lot in June for some reason but this is the standout shot. Once of many attempts at sunset at this location this one probably the best. This shot is special as it’s going to be the cover of a magazine in January, of which I’ll blog more about at the time…

July
Looking down Princes Street sepia

I liked this one for July, Edinburgh city centre at full flow. Taken from near the foot of Calton Hill, which if you have read this blog you’ll know if one of my favourite places in Edinburgh.

August
Reflected Fringe - Explored

August in Edinburgh is all about the Festival. Now, I had to admit I was never a festivally person before I got the photography bug but now I firmly am. I was never away from the Royal Mile in August and got some great shots of the acts. I liked this one though, a living statue held this ball and I think everyone took pics of the reflection; I got this one printed in the Metro newspaper though.

September
Princes Street Gardens

September was a funny month, I turned 40, developed an inner ear condition called Labyrinthitis which is still causing me issues and I started to play about with proper filters and move away from HDR shots. This is one of the better examples of my early playing about. I had done it as an HDR the day earlier but hated it and went back next day with the sun in a better place and nailed it. Or at least I think I did!

October
Victoria Terrace

October I took a series of shots for Maxies Wine Bar and Bistro and done their website. This was one I went to get especially at night which came out near perfect.

November
Unfinished Shadows

I had to pick this for November, it was the shot I went to get that day. I had seen something similar in snow but the sun was so strong this Saturday morning I dragged myself out of bed and headed down to Calton just in time to give it a go.

December
Sundown at Cammo

December has been a good month for photographs in Edinburgh, mainly thanks to the snow. But rather than pick an obvious classic Edinburgh in the snow shot I’m going for this one taken on the Cammo Estate on the western edge of the city. I liked this as I shot into the sun and tamed the flares!

So there you go, my favourites of the year, hope you enjoyed them too!

12 responses

  1. some really incredible shots! gorgeous

    December 31, 2010 at 8:38 pm

  2. i love that every picture is breath-taking in its own way.
    love it ❤

    December 31, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  3. It’s October for me.

    December 31, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  4. this was really inspiring! i get a little discouraged when i dont have time or opportunity to scout more and take interesting shots. this gives me ideas …
    k☼

    December 31, 2010 at 11:08 pm

  5. I must say ur clicks r amazing!!
    kudos!
    i m already in love with edinburgh..and these pics make me want to stay here forever:)

    January 1, 2011 at 1:49 am

  6. I love the idea of picking a favorite pic for each month – might have to re-steal the idea – hehe

    January 1, 2011 at 7:52 am

  7. Amazing pics!

    January 1, 2011 at 5:11 pm

  8. What a great post. Wonderful idea this “the best of the year!”.
    A happy New Year to you and all the blog’s readers.

    January 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm

  9. Just found you last week through Freshly Pressed. I love the pictures.

    I was in Scotland for the first time in May and wished I had more time to explore Edinburgh.

    Read about my adventures here:

    http://solitaryspinster.wordpress.com/2010/07/04/hopelessly-lost-in-edinburgh/

    January 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm

  10. Oh, lovely photos! I also like the idea, I may do the same for my food posts. Thank you.

    January 4, 2011 at 8:18 am

  11. Pingback: Favorite posts of 2010 – Part I of IX | foodtable: an eclectic blog about food & dining out

  12. I found here something new and interesting. Thanks

    January 10, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

